HomeSWIMMINGNEWS2016 Presentation & Awards Evening

2016 Presentation & Awards Evening

Presentation & Awards Evening

On Saturday 26 November, Newton Abbot Swimming & Waterpolo Club held their Annual Presentation & Awards Evening at the Racecourse.  It was a wonderful evening, where members of the club received their trophies and medals from the Annual Club Gala, and were also recognised for outstanding achievements.  

Haydn Woolley was awarded by the Committee as Male Swimmer of the year, with Flora Perkin receiving Female Swimmer of the Year.  

Head Coach Kevin Dart also awarded Ella Lamont Tuckett with Swimmer of the Year and Most Improved Swimmer went to Abigail Down.  Kevin talked about the motivation and commitment these four swimmers have shown, being an inspiration to others.  


A special award was presented to Kathy Forward, who was recognised as going 'above and beyond' in her role as Competition Secretary for the club, and for her official duties on behalf of the club at other venues. Thanks were given to her for all the time she has put in over the last 12 months.

The Waterpolo Teams were awarded their medals and trophies, with the U15 and U17 yet again winning their leagues, so gold medals all round.  

The U19, Senior Ladies and Senior Mens were also recognised, with Tommy Whiting awarded top male goal scorer for the year, and Heather Tomlinson as top female goal scorer.  

Player of the Year went to Thomas Manley, with Ladies Player's Player going to Laura Trist.  Keeping it in the family, brother John Trist was presented with Devon Junior Official Referee of the Year.  

A special award for the evening was given to Rowan Astwood, from Phil Shears, for Most Committed Player of the Year.

The huge success of the club must be attributed not only to the talented children, but to the wonderful Coaches on both the Swimming & Waterpolo side, and the many parent-helpers and junior helpers that assist every week to make the club such a success.


 1.  Swimmers

2.  Waterpolo Players


 3.L - R = Ella lamont Tuckett, Haydn Woolley, Flora Perkin & Abigail Down


Go to top