2016 Presentation & Awards Evening

Presentation & Awards Evening

On Saturday 26 November, Newton Abbot Swimming & Waterpolo Club held their Annual Presentation & Awards Evening at the Racecourse.  It was a wonderful evening, where members of the club received their trophies and medals from the Annual Club Gala, and were also recognised for outstanding achievements.  

Haydn Woolley was awarded by the Committee as Male Swimmer of the year, with Flora Perkin receiving Female Swimmer of the Year.  

Head Coach Kevin Dart also awarded Ella Lamont Tuckett with Swimmer of the Year and Most Improved Swimmer went to Abigail Down.  Kevin talked about the motivation and commitment these four swimmers have shown, being an inspiration to others.  


2016 UBSC Open Meet

2016 UBSC Open Meet

On Saturday 19 and Sunday 20 November, swimmers from Newton Abbot Swimming Club took part in the annual UBSC (United Bristol Swimming Club) gala at Horfield Leisure Centre, Bristol.  

This was an Open Meet, which means that swimmers enter the events individually in order to achieve times, rather than an organised club event.  

This is the 3rd year now that quite a few swimmers from the club have entered.


2016 ASA County Team Championships

2016 ASA County Team Championships

Flora Perkin, age 12 has been selected to represent Devon County at the ASA County Team Championships on 23 October at Ponds Forge, Sheffield.  


2016 Scott Ormsby Trophy

2016 Scott Ormsby Trophy

Winning the Scott Ormsby Trophy Sat 18 Sep at Newton Abbot.


2016 Inter Club Ribbon Gala

2016 Inter Club Ribbon Gala

On Saturday 10th September, an Inter Club Ribbon Gala was held at Newton Abbot Swimming Club, For swimmers from the Learn to Swim classes, for 8-12 year olds


2016 Oddicombe Open Water

2016 Oddicombe Open Water

Oddicombe Open Water (non wetsuit) Swim 31 July 2016.  Newton Abbot won the trophy this year!!! 


2016 Annual Club Championships

2016 Annual Club Championships

The Annual Club Championships - held over one week-end (Sat 23 & Sun 24 July) and four evenings.  

The presentation for these events takes place at the end of the year, at the club presentation evening.  

Suffice to say that the standard was exceptionally high, with many swimmers gaining pb's (personal best times) in a variety of strokes and events, from the 50m sprints up to the 1500m. 

2016 Ribbon Gala

2016 Ribbon Gala

The Ribbon Gala, held at Newton Abbot Leisure Centre on Saturday 23 & Sunday 24 July, for the junior members of the club (9 years and under). 

This was a really exciting event, enabling the younger swimmers to experience a gala environment and giving them a chance to gain times in all four strokes at 25m & 50m.



2016 ASA South West Fast 5

ASA South West Gloucester Fast 5

ASA South West Gloucester Fast 5 competition' on Sunday 3 July.

In order to take part, the swimmers had to compete in the recent Regional events across the South West.  

The Fast Five competition comprises of 4 x 50m races in every stroke and then 100 IM

(Individual Medley).  

They all achieved pb's in various races on the day and Haydn Woolley

was awarded a bronze medal overall in his age group.


In the photo:L-R Haydn Woolley, Libby Wray, Flora Perkin & Jacob Cacchione.

2016 Devon ASA Interclub Championships

2016 Devon ASA Interclub Championships

The Devon ASA Interclub Championships 2016 held at the Plymouth Life Centre on Saturday 18 June.  

There were 12 teams competing:- Newton Abbot, Plymouth, Exeter, Torquay Leander, Dawlish, Paignton, Tiverton, Barnstaple, Oddicombe, Tavistock, Devonport & Kingsbridge.  

Newton Abbot Head Coach Kevin Dart says he was extremely proud of the team, as they came 5th and of 12 and last year were 8th.  

The swimmers were strong and improving all the time.

2016 Devon ASA Championship Relay Gala

2016 Devon ASA Championship Relay Gala

Boys 15/16 Medley Relay Swimming Team, bronze medals.

Saturday 5 March, Plymouth Life Centre, at the ASA Devon Championship Relay Gala.

Newton Abbot entered various teams in the girls/boys 11/12, 13/14, 15/16

L-R in photo

Haydn Woolley, Seth Perkin, Oliver Wright & Jacob Cacchione

2016 Devon County ASA Championships

2016 Devon County ASA Championships

our swimmers who have recently taken part in the Devons (Devon Championships), in 16/17Jan, 30 & 31 Jan, 6 & 7 Feb and 27 Feb.  In order to compete in these events, you have to qualify, so it is highly competitive, and one step closer to possibly achieving Regional times and even National times at a later stage.  The Devons were held at the Life Centre, in Plymouth over a 25m course (with the exception of the girls 800m (Erin) and boys 1500m (Haydn & Oliver) that was held over a 50m course.

All these swimmers took part L-R

Front:Jacob Cacchione, Seth Woolley, Jed Griffen, Erin Throgmorten-Appleby, Abigail Warren

Middle:Ross Brown, Nathan Locke, Seth Perkin, Christopher Abel, Flora Perkin, Abigail Downs, Bella Dawson

Back:Haydn Woolley, Alexander Abel, Libby Wray, Georgianna Thorn

(Not in photo, but competed were Oliver Wright & Mia Moxey)

The following swimmers were finalists/medalled, as follows:-

Libby Wray  16+  1st 50m Breast, 4th 200m Breast, 6th 100m IM, 7th 100m Breast

Flora Perkin  13yr   2nd 50m Br, 4th 100m & 200m Br, 7th 100m IM & 400m F/S, 8th 50m Back

Abigail Warren 11yr 3rd 100m Breast, 4th 200m IM, 5th 50m Br & 100m IM, 7th 200m Fly

Georgianna Thorn 14yr  6th 100m Breast 


Jed Griffin   11yr  st 50m Breast

Christopher Abel 11yr   2nd 200m Br, 4th 50m Back & 50m Br, 6th 50m F/S & 200m IM, 7th 100m IM

Haydn Woolley 15yr   2nd 50m Breast, 3rd 100m Breast, 6th 200m IM,

Oliver Wright  15yr  2nd 200m Breast, 7th 50m Breast, 8th 100m Breast

Ross Brown  16+  4th 200m Fly

Alexander Abel 13yr   6th 50m Breast, 8th 100m Breast

Seth Perkin  15yr  7th 100m Breast

2015 Presentation Evening

2015 Presentation Evening 

Annual Presentation evening on Saturday 23 January, for the Newton Abbot Swimming & Waterpolo Club, held at Newton Abbot race course.  

It was a fabulous evening where we celebrated the achievements of both the swimmers and waterpolo players, over the last 12 months......and what a successful year the club has had!!!!


2015 Swimmer of the month winners

2015 Swimmer of the month winners

Every month one swimmer is selected as 'Swimmer of the Month', which celebrates the swimmers achievements that particular month.  It is a fantastic honour for the children to be awarded this.

Newton Abbot Swimming Club – Learn to swim swimmers of the month winners for 2015. These swimmers have worked hard during their swimming lessons to receive the swimmer of the month trophy throughout 2015. Congratulations to all the swimmers.

Back row – left to right

Emily Hunt, Ivy Martin, Polly Attwood, Olivia Martin, Freyja Hussey, Billy Beresford, Jack Edmunds, Jacob Featherbe, Leo Buchanan, and James McCaffery.

Middle row – left to right

Joshua Wilson, Isabelle Hunt, Michael Holt, Yasmin Yelland, Robert McCaffery, Ella Holmes,  Nina Tonkin, Sophie Calder, and Daniel Cornall.

Front row – left to right

Austin Blee, Louis Wilshire, Keira Bailey, Lillie Morris, Taylor Stevens, Ailsa Harrison, Lizzie Cacchione, Emma-Jane Taylor, Arthur McCauley and Reuben Mayell

2015 Teignbridge Sports Awards

2015 Teignbridge Sports Awards 

Thomas Manley and Heather Tomlinson at the 2015 Teignbridge Sports Awards last Friday night 4th December. They both got third place in the Junior Sportsman and Junior Sportswoman categories respectively. Thomas was nominated by Liz Mann, Heather was nominated by Coombeshead Academy. They were both nominated for their successes at water polo.


Go to top